Mendelssohn 2 Concert Pieces Op. 113 and 114 for 2 Clarinets and Piano ( or clarinet, basset horn and piano)


Felix Mendelssohn (1809 - 1847) wrote the Concertpiece No. 1 in f minor, Op. 113 for clarinet, Basset Horn, and piano after he met Heinrich Baermann in 1829. The piece was premiered in 1833 with Baermann on clarinet, his son Carl Baermann on Basset horn, and Mendelssohn on piano. Both Concertpieces are technically challenging, yet idiomatic and fun to play. Solo parts included: Bb Clarinet, Basset horn, Bassoon/Cello

Table of Contents:
Concertpiece No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 113

Concert Piece No. 2 in D minor, Op. 114 for Clarinet, Bassoon (or Cello) & Piano or 2 Clarinets & Piano by Felix Bartholdy Mendelssohn (1809-1847). Edited by Eric Simon. For Clarinet, Bassoon (or Cello) & Piano or 2 Clarinets & Piano. Published by International Music Company (IM.1364).

Table of Contents:
Concertpiece No. 2 in D Minor, Op. 114

“Favourite dish in exchange for favourite music” – this perfectly summarizes the genesis of the Konzertstücke. When the clarinettist Heinrich Joseph Baermann and his son Carl, who also played the basset horn, stopped to pay a visit to Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy in 1832, they came to a most curious agreement: they promised their composer friend a generous portion of “Dampfnudeln” (steamed dumplings) and “Rahmstrudel” (sweet-cheese strudel) that Mendelssohn was mad about, if he were to write a piece for them which they could use on their concert tours. The Konzertstück in f minor that originated in this fashion was followed shortly afterwards by a second one in d minor. Both are extremely effective works which wonderfully bring out the unique sound and performance technique of the two instruments from the clarinet family.

In stock

SKU: muclmendelsconcertstucke Categories: , ,


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.