Weber Concerto for Clarinet and Piano in Eb Major No.2 Op. 74, Weston Ed.


Concerto for Clarinet, No. 2, Op. 74 by Carl Weber, Edited by Pamela Weston, Pub. Fentone Music Ltd.

Weber's two clarinet concertos were written in 1811, the same year as the famous Concertino.  The concertos present the same editorial problems as the Concertino, with the soloist's son Carl Baermann having created new and somewhat re-written versions of these works for publication in 1870, but also with Weber's manuscripts and the first published editions being incomplete regarding dynamics and articulation.  At least in the case of the Concertino, one could opine that some of the re-written figures or phrases are more effective for the clarinet than the originals.  A manuscript copy of the full score of Concerto No. 2, made by Weber for soloist Heinrich Baermann, now resides in the Pierpont Morgan Library in New York, but has not been digitized online as of autumn 2017.

Editor Pamela Weston.  Foreword in English.  Practical performing edition.  Piano part shows two solo staves above, the first being Weber's original and the second being as edited for the printed solo part.  The role of added cadenzas is controversial, but an insert holds three versions of a proposed second-movement cadenza.

Table of Contents:
1. Allegro

2. Romanze: Andante

3. Alla Polacca

In stock

SKU: muclweberconcertono2HL Categories: , ,


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.