Weber Concerto for Clarinet and Piano in Eb No. 2 Op. 74, Henle Ed.


Weber's two clarinet concertos were written in 1811, the same year as the famous Concertino.  The concertos present the same editorial problems as the Concertino, with the soloist's son Carl Baermann having created new and somewhat re-written versions of the works for publication in 1870, but also with Weber's manuscripts and the first published editions being incomplete regarding dynamics and articulation.  At least in the case of the Concertino, one could opine that some of the re-written figures or phrases are more effective for the clarinet than the originals.  A manuscript copy of the full score of Concerto No. 1, made by Weber for soloist Heinrich Baermann, now resides in the Library of Congress and has been digitized online.

Editor Norbert Gertsch; piano reduction by Johannes Umbreit.  Extensive Preface and editorial comments in English, French, and German.  Holds two separate solo parts.  One reflects the first published edition of 1824, checked against Weber's manuscripts.  The other reflects the revised edition of 1870, by Carl Baermann.  Whether either of these parts is adequate for performance as it stands will be in the judgment of players or teachers.  Nevertheless, this Henle publication is essential for consultation by professional or university-level clarinetists.

Table of Contents:
1. Allegro

2. Adagio ma non troppo

3. Rondo: Allegretto

In stock

SKU: muclweberconcertono2henle Categories: , ,


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.