Lutoslawski Dance Preludes for Clarinet and Piano



  1. Allegro molto
  2. Andantino
  3. Allegro giocoso
  4. Andante
  5. Allegro moltoLutoslawski described the Dance Preludes as his "farewell to folklore"; in the middle 1950s he stopped writing works inspired by Polish folk music (like the Concerto for Orchestra), and adopted a more dissonant style informed by the European avant-garde. Written over the years 1954 and 1955, the Dance Preludes were premiered in Warsaw on February 15, 1955. Lutoslawski subsequently rearranged them twice: in 1955 for clarinet, string orchestra, harp, piano, and percussion, and in 1959 for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, French horn, and string quartet.

    The five Preludes are uniformly light-hearted and melodic, each of them only a minute or two in length. The first, third, and fifth are quick and lively, whereas the second and fourth are slower in tempo and more melancholic in tone.

In stock

SKU: mucllutoslawskidancepreludes Categories: , ,


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.